Day 159: Thoughts on Spinning Yarn

Fabloues post really interesting and different 👍

Mountain Man Traditional Healing

-Another_view_of_Mrs._James_Watson_spinning_wool_yarn_in_her_cabin_near_Gatlinburg,_Tennessee.-_-_NARA_-_5327692000px-Decorative_text_divider.svg

As has been mentioned in other posts, string and yarn are used in a lot of folk traditions, the Ozarks included, for various cures and remedies. I’ve been spinning my own yarn for about a year now and I absolutely love it. There’s nothing more relaxing than sitting on the porch and spinning, especially if it’s cool outside. It always seems to calm me down from the angriest of moods.

The act of spinning in and of itself can be healing work. The way I look at it is that the intention I’m putting into the yarn will then carry over to the healing work I’m using it for. If, while I’m spinning, I can pray or sit silently, or think on good things, those thoughts and feelings get woven into the strands themselves.

Historically spinning has been associated with various oracular traditions. In Scandinavia the völvas were often buried…

View original post 231 more words