First Night Design | Quotation #2 – Motele in Auschwitz

First Night Design

Following Jane Morley‘s tagging of me for this challenge, my second quote is also something I stencilled on that bathroom wall I mentioned yesterday! It is part of a poem written by an eight-year-old boy, Motele, which was published in a Warsaw Ghetto newspaper, Gazeta Zydowoska, and translated from the Yiddish by Dr. Marie Syrkin. Dr. Syrkin included it in her book, Blessed is the Match: The Story of Jewish Resistance. Motele did not survive.

Child survivors at Auschwitz [Wikimedia] Child survivors at Auschwitz [Wikimedia]

From tomorrow on I shall be sad – from tomorrow on.
Not today, no! Today I will be glad.
And every day, no matter how bitter it be, I will say:
From tomorrow on I shall be sad, not today!

It is an anthem for life and despite its sad provenance, it lifts my spirits immeasurably.

Here are three lovely people with three lovely blogs I’m tagging for the challenge. Dear…

View original post 163 more words