My Vietnam, 1970

#AceHistoryNews – Really interesting posts and worth sharing with my History Group. Thanks Ian

Excuse Us for Living

My Vietnam

January 24-December 11, 1970

 

 

Image

                                            Note the location of Cam Ranh Bay peninsula where I was stationed.

 

Image

            A typical late 1960’s scene (1967)of US Army barracks on Cam Ranh Bay just before I arrived in early 1970.

 

     

     Excuse us for living, but not all of us who were drafted and sent to the Vietnam War were in the “boonies,” the jungle, fighting as combat soldiers. – -“South Vietnam” and the “Vietnam Conflict,” to be precise. For every combat soldier, there were 11 of us serving as support troops. At the height of our troop strength, there were 550,000 of us. You can do the math as to the numbers involved in actual combat. “Occupying” territory turned out to be our main mission and…

View original post 1,363 more words