Designing Washington, DC (cont’d)

Micheline's Blog

The National Mall was the centerpiece of the McMillan Plan.
The National Mall was the centerpiece of the McMillan Plan.

Pleasure & Reality

As I was writing my post entitled Designing Washington, DC: Pierre-Charles L’Enfant, I looked for a suitable video.

There was a perfectly adequate video, but the “pleasure principle” took over.  The term “pleasure principle” was coined by Sigmund Freud (6 May 1856 – 23 September 1939) to describe our need to find pleasure. Its other half is the “reality principle.” So, there I was, writing and editing, but I did not want to put an informative video at the end my post. I got carried away by the “pleasure principle” and inserted videos featuring music.

To correct matters, I am now embedding the appropriate video at the foot of this post.

The Golden Section or Ratio

Pierre-Charles L’Enfant (9 August 1754 – 14 June 1825) designed the National Mall in Washington. That is Washington as we know it. Have you noticed that the design of the mall…

View original post 150 more words

